Artists Worth Checking Out: Ze Bruno has quite an influence on Brazilian jazz

Lots of great drum beats are included in his 2000 album Big Circle.

Image

Image courtesy of tinameeks.com

Spending 11 years between 1978 and 1989 in his native Rio, he gained a full appreciation of all things associated to Brazilian jazz.

By the time he relocated to Los Angeles and shortly thereafter, receiving his music degree–he gained a foothold on music that was important to him.

The best known song was the 1986 Peter Gabriel hit, “Mercy Street” found on track 4.  It is sung so well by Leila Pinheiro.  Other familiar tunes include “Come Together” and the title track.

He is quoted in the liner notes with this simple statement,

“Life used to happen, mainly in the streets.”

I bet the NBC Olympics Research Department is already hard at work trying to tell the story to the average American come summer 2016.

But for the time being, we are left with a nice mix of songs great for getting work done around the house or in the office–or even if you have guests over for a party.  Big Circle definitely delivers, and I give it very high marks.

**********************************************************************

SMALL NOTE:  I realize I am a wee bit late here in the final hours of January in terms of my weekly blog postings.  Many things happened with me, mostly offline that took up a lot of my normal time online–so for those of you expecting the big interview with now-three time album holder Fabiana Passoni, I am not going to let her or her fans down.

I promise a full scale review of her first songs entirely sung in English, and from what I have talked about previously–it is one fun album to savor.

So, please bear with me–as I try to get some new wrinkles in this page and promise that bigger and better layout for 2013 and beyond.

In the weeks and months to come, I plan to devote a few occasions to more rising stars that emerge onto the Brazilian jazz scene.  Plus, for multiple album artists from Sergio Mendes and Brasil ’66 to the singer who opened the Rio 2016 presentation during the 2012 London Olympics Closing Ceremony in multiple Latin Grammy award winner Marisa Monte–I will devote an entire month for their albums, exploring one album per week both in text and hopefully, some cool YouTube clips.

I hope everyone is well.  Please keep those happy comments coming, I really appreciate those people who like to listen to relaxing music.  But personally, I would not be shocked if I was the only person in my house come the 2016 Summer Olympics Opening Ceremony that I can snap my fingers and recite all of the key lyrics to the songs similar to the 1980’s segments the British rockers did in London 2012.

See you all pretty soon.

