Master Composers: Miucha definitely belongs as one true Brazilian Mother who also is an accomplished singer

Image

Image courtesy of divirta-se.correioweb.com.br

It took me all of only three minutes to find another true mother of a Brazilian jazz artist (but I already did cover Fabiana Passoni way back in December 2012, if you wish to go back in my archive and read for yourself).

It so happens this time around that I was pleasantly surprised to read about this very accomplished singer.

Between the years of 1977 and 1989, Heloísa Maria Buarque de Holanda aka Muicha produced six LP’s–the first few with Antonio Carlos Jobim.

Born November 30, 1937 in Rio–she became the second wife of Joao Gilberto in April of 1965, and is the sister of Chico Buarque.  But perhaps the real reason why I chose to highlight her for Mother’s Day is because she is the mother of one of my all-time favorite Brazilian jazz artists, Bebel Gilberto.

Muicha’s style is very easy going and her voice might remind some as a cross between Astrud Gilberto, Patricia Talem, and Diana Krall.

Hopefully, this video can shed a bit of light on her 33 year career.  From the import album Outros Sonhos, this song is titled, “Voca Vai Ver”–translated meaning, “You’ll see”:

She even paired up with Stan Getz on a memorable album in September 1986, “The Best of Two Worlds.”

And yes, I will definitely highlight her daughter extensively in future blogs.

For now, this will do.  Hope everyone savors the special day with their moms and grandmothers (if applicable).  And who knows, maybe someday down the road–some of my favorite artists of the present and future might join Muicha in that exclusive club of motherhood.

Wishful thinking, I am sure, but seriously–there is nothing wrong with dreaming.

Back to my usual blogs next week.

