Artists Worth Checking Out: Talisman has an enjoyable sound (Updated Version)

Originally posted on Saturday, January 31, 2015

Image courtesy of exclaim.ca

Image courtesy of exclaim.ca

Em 09 de setembro de 2014 o duo de percussionista Sammy Figueora e vocalista Glaucia Nasser produziu um álbum muito bem trabalhada de calmantes, calma, baladas lentas que vale a pena escutar em qualquer configuração.

Uma pequena nota antes de eu continuar com o meu comentário:

Em três ocasiões diferentes, tentei enviar e-mail Glaucia via sua língua nativa em Português e ela estava tão animado por estar completando seu questionário. Problema foi, eu nunca ouvi falar dela.

Isso é – ela finalmente me enviaram de volta alguns dias depois do Carnaval no domingo, 22 de fevereiro Abaixo está a minha conversa em que eu falei com ela sobre como ela começou sua carreira no mundo da música, que cresceu em uma comunidade agrícola, e seus pensamentos sobre o Brasil receber o mundo com menos de 18 meses para os Jogos Olímpicos de Verão. .
A entrevista está transcrita, pela primeira vez em sua terra natal, Português e novamente para o resto de nós em Inglês Americano.

Divirta-se!

On September 9, 2014 the duo of percussionist Sammy Figueora and vocalist Glaucia Nasser produced a beautifully crafted album of soothing, calm, slow ballads that is worth listening to in any setting.

A small note before I continue with my review:

On three different occasions, I attempted to email Glaucia via her native language in Portuguese and she was so excited to be completing her questionnaire.  Problem was, I never heard from her.

That is–she finally emailed me back a few days after Carnaval on Sunday, February 22. Below is my conversation where I talked to her about how she got her start in the music business, growing up in a farm community, and her thoughts about Brazil welcoming the world less than 18 months for the Summer Olympics.
The interview is transcribed, first in her native Portuguese and again for the rest of us in American English.

Enjoy!

Glaucia Nasser nasceu em Minas Gerais, um estado menor várias centenas de quilômetros ao sul do Rio. Tem sido por muitos anos uma comunidade agrícola, similar aos que os americanos vêem a condução durante a maior parte do Indiana Toll Road, a caminho de South Bend / Mishawaka ou perto de Kansas State University, em Manhattan, Kansas.
Seus principais culturas de acordo com a Wikipedia estão crescendo de café, leite e alimentos.

Ela produziu seus próprios CDs em quatro ocasiões: 2003, ’05, ’08, e, por último, em 2011. Seu trabalho também foi destaque no filme de 2009, The Visitor“.

Ambos Sammy e Glaucia conseguiu fazer uma turnê pelos Estados Unidos turbilhão durante o outono de 2014. Eles fizeram paradas em Chicago, Miami, Bethesda, Maryland, e New York City.

Minhas músicas preferidas do CD eu destaquei acima são Faixas 2 “Econtro” (“Encontro”) e Track 5, “Terra de Vida” (Terra da Vida”). Mistura de Sammy de percussão e melodias graciosas de Glaucia realmente cumprimentar cada canção tão lindamente. Foi uma das primeiras músicas onde ele fala sobre um encontro cara a menina através da Internet na esperança de que ele encontra o amor verdadeiro – de alguma forma, de alguma maneira. A outra canção presta homenagem à tradição Africano que continue a tecer na cultura atual do Brasil uma verdadeira inspiração da infância de Claudia em Clara Nunes, que de uma só vez na década de 1970 fez esta canção um hit popular.

Também vale a pena conferir é o encarte que foram bem escritos por Rachel Fero, onde ela fala sobre o triunfo sobre a tragédia.

The translated text follows:

Glaucia Nasser was born in Minas Gerais, a smaller state several hundred kilometers south of Rio.  It has been for many years a farming community, similar to those that Americans see driving through most of the Indiana Toll Road en route to South Bend/Mishawaka or near Kansas State University in Manhattan, Kansas.
Their major crops according to Wikipedia are growing coffee, milk, and foodstuffs.

She produced her own CD’s on four occasions: 2003, ’05, ’08, and lastly in 2011. Her work was also featured in the 2009 film, “The Visitor.”

Both Sammy and Glaucia managed to make a whirlwind United States tour during the autumn of 2014. They made stops in Chicago, Miami, Bethesda, Maryland, and New York City.

My favorite tracks on the CD I have highlighted above are Tracks 2 “Econtro” (“Encounter”) and Track 5, “Terra de Vida” (“Earth of Life”). Sammy’s blend of percussion and Glaucia’s graceful melodies really compliment each song so beautifully. It was one of the first songs where it talks about a guy meeting a girl via the Internet in the hopes that he finds true love–somehow, someway. The other song pays tribute to the African tradition that continue to weave in Brazil’s current culture–a true inspiration of Claudia’s childhood in Clara Nunes, who at one time in the 1970’s made this song a popular hit.

Also worth checking out are the liner notes that were well written by Rachel Fero, where she talks about triumph over tragedy.

1. Que tipo de nome é Glaucia, apenas curioso para saber?

Glaucia foi escolhido pela minha mãe, cujo pai e mãe eram libaneses. É um nome libanês, escrito e pronunciado de forma diferente.

1. What kind of name is Glaucia, just curious?

Glaucia was chosen by my mother whose mother and father were Lebanese. It is a Lebanese name, spelled and pronounced differently.

2. Por favor, diga-me sobre crescer em Minas Gerais. Queria gastar alguns de seus primeiros anos ajudando crescer alguns itens populares, como café ou alimentos? E o que as circunstâncias te fez mudar de idéia sobre como se tornar um full-time cantor / compositor?

Eu nasci no countryside brasileiro mas fui cantora desde o início . Cantei a primeira vez aos 5 anos no jardim de infância e me lembro como se fosse hoje. Guardo comigo todas as lembranças musicais da infância e adolescência . A minha raiz é rural , simples, cresci nos pomares e nos campos de milho , mas minha alma sempre esteve ligada à música .

2. Please tell me about growing up in Minas Gerais. Did you spend some of your early years helping grow some popular items such as coffee or food? And what circumstances did you change your mind about becoming a full-time singer / songwriter?

I was born in the Brazilian countryside, but (I) was singer from the beginning. I sang the first time to 5 years in kindergarten and I remember like it was today. Keep with me all the musical memories of childhood and adolescence. My root is rural, simple, grew up in the orchards and cornfields, but my soul has always been linked to music.

3. Viver no exterior por um tempo, o que foi isso?

Foi uma boa experiência. Influenciou minha vida porque (ele) ampliou meus horizontes . Tenho minha raiz no Brasil e tenho mais consciência de como ele está inserido no mundo.

3. Living abroad for a while, what was that like?

It was a good experience. Influenced my life because (it) broadened my horizons. I have my roots in Brazil and have become more aware of how it is inserted in the world.

4. Depois de quatro álbuns individuais desde 2003, como inspiradora tem Clara Nunes esteve em sua carreira?

Clara Nunes cantava com a alma.

Existem outros cantores que se seguiram desde a mais tenra idade que foram grandes influências de jazz–muitos.

Há outros cantores que se seguiram desde tenra idade que foram grandes influências de jazz muitos. Tenho influências que começam em Minas Gerais e chegam ao rock internacional. Cantores de Elis Regina, Gal Costa, Maria Bethânia, Ella Fitzgerald, Sarah Vaughan, Edith Piaf. Todos esses grandes artistas cantaram (tão lindamente enquanto), revelando a cada pouco de suas almas.

4. After releasing four individual albums since 2003, how inspiring having Clara Nunes been in your career?

Clara Nunes sang with the soul.

There are other singers that followed from an early age that were great jazz influences–manyI have influences that begin in Minas Gerais and reach the international rock. Singers from Elis Regina, Gal Costa, Maria Bethania, Ella Fitzgerald, Sarah Vaughan, Edith Piaf. All these great artists sang (so beautifully while) revealing every bit of their souls.

5. Minhas canções favoritas do álbum Talisman são “Meeting” e “Ilu-Aye”. Eu gostava também de ler o folheto por Rachel Faro, tão perspicaz e experiente depois da tragédia envolvendo Roy Cicala. Eu só posso imaginar que você e Sammy penso nele todos os dias, cada vez que você cantar.
Roy era um dos mágicos (inspirações) deste projeto. Nós fizemos este álbum (de) afeto, respeito e gratidão por ele.

5. My favorite songs on the Talisman album are “Meeting” and “Ilu-Aye”. I also enjoyed reading the brochure by Rachel Faro, so insightful and experienced after the tragedy involving Roy Cicala. I can only imagine that you and Sammy think of him every day, every time you sing.

Roy was one of magic (inspirations) of this project. We made this album (out of) affection, respect and gratitude for him.

6. Como foi o grupo recebeu durante sua queda de 2014 turnê para os Estados UnidosE em que cidade se você gosta de jogar mais – Chicago, Miami, Bethesda, Maryland, e New York City? Além disso, você está planejando um retorno ao meu país de origem?

Fomos muito bem recebidos. Foi difícil deixar o tamanho do palco o tumulto. Vamos voltar este ano! Eu gostava de todos os lugares. Todos tiveram seu encantamento.

6. How was the group received during your fall 2014 tour to the United States? And what city did you enjoy playing the most – Chicago, Miami, Bethesda, Maryland, and New York City? Also, you are planning a return to my home country?

We were very well received. It was hard to leave the stage size turmoil. Going back this year! I enjoyed everywhere. All had their enchantment.

7. Com sua agitada agenda nos dias de hoje, você esculpir pelo menos um pouco de tempo para todos os hobbies?

Eu amo tudo o que faço e encontrar tempo para fazer amor. Um dos meus hobbies é permanecer escuta silenciosa, vendo, sentindo a vida no presente.

7. With your hectic schedule these days, you carve at least a little time for all hobbies?

I love everything I do and find time to make love.  One of my hobbies is to remain silent listening, seeing, feeling life in the present.

8. A minha última questão envolve o ritmo bastante agitado seu país se prepara para sediar maiores atletas do mundo para o Rio para os Jogos Olímpicos de Verão de 2016.

Mesmo com atrasos nos transportes e limpeza dos rios principais em sites de vela e remo, você está nervoso ou você ainda está confiante de que o Rio será capaz de dar um grande compromisso tão – sabendo muito bem como as coisas críticas foram apenas alguns dias antes Copa do Mundo da FIFA em 2014? Com apenas alguns pequenos incidentes relatados, principalmente Rio passou com louvor por assim dizer.

O Brasil passa por um momento delicado. A ganância eo egoísmo assumiu nosso país, mas tenho esperança e fazer a minha parte para mudar o que acontece aqui. (Tudo o que posso dizer aos meus fãs é) vamos nos preparar para as Olimpíadas. Only (as pessoas correndo ele vai) sabe (quanto dinheiro) vai custar a minha querida Brasil. O Talisman CD de música conecta um canto (de) a minha alma, que (permanecerá sempre), ligado ao Brasil.

8. My last question involves the quite hectic pace your country is preparing to host the world’s greatest athletes to Rio for the Summer Olympic Games in 2016.

Even with transport delays and cleaning of the key rivers in sailing and rowing sites, are you nervous or are you still confident that Rio will be able to take such a big commitment – knowing full well how critical things were just a few days before the FIFA World Cup in 2014? With just a few minor incidents reported, Rio mostly passed with flying colors so to speak.

Brazil is going through a delicate moment.  Greed and selfishness took over our country, but I have hope and do my part to change what happens here. (All I can tell my fans is) let’s get ready for the Olympics. Only (the people running it will) know (how much money) it will cost to my Dear Brazil. The music CD Talisman connects a corner (of) my soul, which (will always remain) connected to Brazil.

Todos nós podemos sonhar grande, não é?
We can all dream big, right?
Glaucia foi gentil o suficiente para fechar esta Q & A especial com estas palavras:
Glaucia was kind enough to close this special Q&A with these words:
Sim podemos sonhar Matt. Na verdade devemos sonhar e participar da formatação de um mundo melhor . Mais fraterno e mais amoroso.
Yes we can dream Matt. In fact we should dream and participate in the formatting of a better world. More fraternal and more loving.

Este álbum tem o meu mais alta classificação, não por causa do nome bonito que que Talisman simplesmente significa: um amuleto de boa sorte, um símbolo com poderes mágicos“, mas sim – um grupo que é muito terra-a-terra e aparece pelo menos virtualmente falando desde que eu não tenha participado em seus shows, para ser um grupo muito humilde e tipo de pessoas. Em cada foto que você vê na dobra inbetween o encarte, Glaucia é visto tendo um bom tempo no set.
Se todos os músicos (e eu sei que alguns de vocês que são meus seguidores leais podem atestar isso) tem para baixo a combinação de charme, graça, carisma, sendo doce e humilde nas canções que eles criam, eu acho que este mundo seria estar em um lugar muito melhor.
Tem que começar em algum lugar, e em nenhum outro lugar eu acho que seria um excelente ponto de partida do que pegar o álbum Talisman”. Cinco estrelas todo o caminho!

E quem sabe, talvez, se a notícia se espalha mais – eu não seria de todo surpreso ao ver Glaucia Nasser cantar durante os cermonies Abertura vir agosto 2016 para lançar os Jogos Olímpicos Rio Summer.

Nada mal para uma menina de origem agrícola.

This album gets my highest rating, not because of the cute name that gives which Talisman simply means: “a good luck charm, a symbol with magical powers” but rather–a group that is very down-to-earth and appears at least virtually speaking since I have not attended any of their shows, to be a very humble and kind group of people. In each pic that you see in the fold inbetween the liner notes, Glaucia is seen having a good time on set.
If every musician (and I know a few of you who are my loyal followers can attest to this) has down the combination of charm, grace, charisma, while being sweet and humble in the songs that they create, I think that this world would be in a much better place.
It has to start somewhere, and nowhere else I think would be a great starting point than picking up this “Talisman” album. Five stars all the way!

And who knows, maybe if word gets out more–I would not be at all surprised to see Glaucia Nasser sing during the Opening Cermonies come August 2016 to kick off the Rio Summer Olympics.

Not bad for an original farm girl.

Tags: , ,

