Olympic Update, as an NBA legend walks away from Olympic spotlight

Multiple broadcast and online reports on Saturday has Los Angeles Lakers superstar and future Basketball Hall of Famer Kobe Bryant dropping out of Team USA’s repeat run for gold in Rio.

He made his decision official in Salt Lake City prior to the Lakers encounter with the Utah Jazz.  Pulling quotes from James Herbert, an NBA writer for CBSSports.com, he seems to be very much at peace–even though injuries having taken a toll on his 37 year old legs:

“I’ve had my moment.  I think it’s important for them to go ahead and play. I’ll watch from afar, support from afar. If they want me to come down and speak to the guys, I will. That’s about it. I think as beautiful as it would be to play for our country, when I say my last game is going to be my last game, I’m going to retire, then that’s it.”

Kobe Bryant who won Olympic gold in 2008 and 2012, will wrap up his twenty season run when the Los Angeles Lakers close up the regular season in April.

The article also talked about current Golden State Warriors phenom Stephen Curry as the next great Olympian in waiting.  Either way, the world better watch out as each player in their own unique way would create nightmarish match-up problems at the 4 and 5 spots on the floor.

For the person who does not follow the sport too closely, it will be like taking the rock and just shooting baskets all day long.  Think Oscar Schmidt when he suited up for Brazil during his heyday between 1987 to 1991.

The full article can be accessed here:

http://hosted.ap.org/dynamic/stories/B/BKO_OLYMPICS_BRYANT_OUT?SITE=AP&SECTION=HOME&TEMPLATE=DEFAULT&CTIME=2016-01-16-19-31-48

 

