Artist Worth Checking Out: Gervaso Silva Goes Bossa, Part One

aa

Image courtesy of cdon.se

In preparation for this blog, I searched online far and wide for any biographical data on Gervaso Silva.  Sadly, my search came up empty.

However, his smooth take with putting the bossa nova spin on mega popular smooth jazz artist the world over during the middle 1980’s in Sade is a definite and worthy addition to any Brazilian jazz library.

It is under Volume 7 of the NuGroove Music, LLC/Points South Music label of Moorestown, New Jersey.  Released in 2008, ten of Sade’s big hits are featured, including one of my alternate nicknames since my days in college.  You can find that on Track 2, “Smooth Operator.”  No lyrics, just simplistic melodies all around make this an album perfect for work.

Other cool hits include the opening track, “Hang On To Your Love” along with “The Sweetest Taboo” on Track 3, “No Ordinary Love” on Track 7 and another one of my favorite Sade songs, “Kiss of Life” on Track 9.

Next week, as Valentine’s time is just around the corner–I will look at Volume 8 at what things might have sounded if Marvin Gaye was alive today.

Say what you will about “Sexual Healing”.  There is more than just the one song that I will profile next week.  Enjoy the Super Bowl, everybody!

