Master Composers: Sonia Rosa Brought True Jazz Magic From Japan

aa

Image courtesy of e-daylight.jp

I spent several minutes and through a few dozen links to try locating an accurate biography of this former bossa nova artist.

I do not know when she was born, or if she is still alive.  The only key details that I was able to locate was from the site Artist Wiki, where it basically said Sonia moved to Japan during the 1960’s and stayed to do her unique version of Brazilian jazz into the 1970’s.  Today, thanks to the popularity of the CD–her albums have undergone quite a renaissance among collectors.

The album that I highlighted to kick off December is her work from 1967, and I did not have to hunt all the way across to the Land of the Rising Sun to locate this dieks.  Rather, I only had to go across the Atlantic Ocean and some online record store in Germany that managed to have a rare copy of this album at a reasonable price.

The opening track would be great for any late night listening, perfect to take off your heels or boots and just let the rest of the day drift away.

However, be aware that the pace picks up a bit after the opening track–especially on Tracks 4 and 7, “Quem Te Viu, Quem Te Ve” (translated meaning, “Who Saw You, Who Sees You?” and “Goodbye Guacyra”).  Her voice was simply bubbly and definitely puts your mind at ease.  The familiar beats commonly heard on Les Hommes The Mood Is Modal will instantly think of cool vibes and good times all the way around.

And with this disk clocking at a little over 34 minutes, it is definitely worth adding to your virtual library on your mobile device of choice.  I wish all of my fans the best of luck in tracking this CD down and just make sure you turn up your volume just a smidge so you can hear how bubbly her voice really is/was.

*********************************************************************

My Holiday Plans for the Blog

For the past three Decembers, I was fortunate enough to find some really cool Christmas themed albums for all of your holiday parties and times when you are tired from baking too much or wrapping those extra large size boxes with the humongous bows attached to the middle of the box (been there, done that!)

If and when I get some time, I will try to highlight the album by past blog subject Michael Franks and his Remember Christmas album.

Instead, my focus will shift to albums featuring new MPB artists and some works done by familiar artists in the genre of Brazilian jazz that were released during 2016.

First up next week, I plan to cover the Esmeraldas number simply titled, Tie–but it is simply pronounced as “she”.

On the week of December 12, I hope to feature the concert DVD I was hoping to proifle in November when Rita Lee did a 2009 performance complete with a separate section of bloopers and a behind the scenes look at the concert itself.

During the final week leading up to Christmas weekend, I hope to profile Bob Baldwin’s new work, The Brazilian-American Songbook if Spotify or some other free online music player has that album available.  And if I am lucky enough, I might get to unwrap that CD come Christmas Day.  Guess who the joke will be on that day:).

Plus, I hope to have a nice surprise to close out the year.

I will close out 2016 with my general thoughts on why Rio will definitely be remembered as one of the best hosts of any Olympic games–summer or winter.

Thanks in large part to the many leaders from the Rio Olympic Committee and the many scores of volunteers exuding great jobs of patience and perseverance in showing strength for the common good, everyone did exemplary work in spite of incredible obstacles that faced their hospitals and their standard of living, along with the many hotel concierges and bar/restaurant owners showing their unflagging enthusiasm and gracious hospitality in welcoming the many thousands of athletes and visitors from around the world.

And it was in that indomitable spirit that I truly enjoyed blogging about the Games of the XXXI Olympiad for my fans for 16 consecutive days during August 2016.  Yes, I will admit–I had many doubts going back as far as autumn 2014 if Rio had the capability to pull it off.  Historians will remember the 2016 Games as a huge sigh of relief that most of the athletes stayed healthy and major crime problems that were affecting major streets and the Antonio Carlos Jobim Airport at the outset would later be mostly reduced to a collective whisper.

Just you wait to read my review of how those 16 days changed my virtual life.

See you all next week.

