Artists Worth Checking Out: Digo Mattos

Image courtesy of apple.com

In all of my years doing Brazilian jazz, this is the first time that I was unable to find a basic bio of this fine artist. Instead, Google led me to several links that features an adult film star. (Really gross, don’t you think?)

After all, since this is a family type blog–what I can tell you is that his rookie album titled Depois de Ipanema (translated meaning “After Ipanema”) was released on December 27, 2023, and it is a really awesome hidden gem.

After spending the first track mostly talking similar to Lisa Stansfield in the opening 30 seconds from her memorable 1989 single “All Around The World”, the album pivots the listener from Tracks 2 to 8 as if you were traveling me back to the 1990’s. The cool sounds of the saxophone provided by artists ranging from Steve Cole to Steve Lorber and Jessy J of California provided lots of cool vibes to my ears–at a time I really needed it a lot due to many stressful moments going on in our world. Those seven tracks are excellent with a nice rhythm, just fast enough but not too slow–which I felt all along is perfect for while you are at work.

Then on Track 9 “Flor de Laranjeira” (translated meaning “Orange Flower”) brings on the soothing sounds of Camiela Eisenmann. She can be found on both Instagram and Facebook. The final two tracks feature duets with Eric Marienthal and the Outro with Rubinho Antunes.

Definitely gets five stars in my book. From first listen after the Amigo Leo intro to the final Outro track, it is a true keeper to add to your library. The album is available on Spotify.

Hopefully, I will be back on the 411 train sometime in April as I continue to find some newer artists and maybe a few of my favorites producing new work. Please continue to check your inboxes periodically so you can stay up to date.

In the meantime, enjoy March Madness (sorry to all fans of World Cup soccer/futbol) as the 68 team NCAA Tournament is one of the greatest events in all of sports. Unlike in soccer where there is mostly little to no action, the action this time of year is fast paced, unpredictable, and the sight of Cinderellas is very common.

You can catch many of the key updates about men’s college basketball at both my other blog here on WordPress along with the Jetpack app. Not too late to fill out your brackets. The dealine is this Thursday, March 21 at noon Eastern/11 a.m. Central/9 a.m. Pacific (and for those who follow in Brazil, the coverage on ESPN International will start at 2 p.m. Rio time.)

Also, check out my podcast called Big Z College Hoops Central–of which you can find on both Spotify and Apple Music.

Here below is the link to my blog. Please enjoy what I have to say, and I hope you can comment on some of my posts–especially since last October and subscribe, rate, and review my podcast. It will really a lot to me going forward. Take care and I will see you again next month.

https://fortyminutesofhoopsfun.wordpress.com